Suprise!! I was a Mother-Trucker!!


You know, I’ve done a lot of things in my life.  I’m one of those people that has a real curiosity to explore things that interest me, and at one point in my life…..I decided to try truck driving!   Well, it’s not quite that simple, but here’s how it all got started.

Back in 2006, I was working in the home building industry as a Closing Coordinator for a local builder.  Previous to that, and for the past 15 years or so, my profession had been the Banking/Mortgage industry.  But in 2006 I was working with a builder that I didn’t know was about to downsize their whole operation.  This meant the beginning of layoffs, and since I was their most recent hire, I was also their first person to be laid off.  Now, this rocked me to my socks!!  I had never been laid off, so I was really stunned that this had happend…however, I truly believed I would be back to work in no time.

6 months later (yeah….6 months and still looking for work!!), I was getting really concerned about how I was going to continue paying bills with the unemployment income being what it was (not enough!!), and with it about to dry up.  I was watching AJCJobsTV, and saw an ad for a trucking company that had jobs available.  Kind of as a joke, I declared “Well, since no one will hire me, I’m gonna become a truck driver and hit the road”.   I decided to do some research….and then I said a little prayer.  It went a little something like this…”Lord…if I am meant to get into the trucking industry, please make the information easy to obtain and please make a way for me to afford the school and if it’s not to much to ask…will you make the training short so I can get on with making some money”.  I know that sounds like a selfish prayer, but when you are almost broke and needing work…you’ll be suprised at how your prayers come out!!

Fast forward to September of ’06, and voila!!!  I not only found a school that could train me in 3 weeks, but they had job placement, AND…through the Dept. of Labor’s WIA (Workforce Investment Act) office, I could get the training for FREE!!   Apparently the WIA program helps people to get the training which will help them enter a new profession so they can earn better wages.  AWESOME!!  So off I go to school….the only female in my class.  I get the training, I get my license and BAM….I have my first driving job!!  My prayers were answered!!  So there you have it….I was a Mother-Trucker (a term used to describe female truck drivers).  That was quite an exciting and sometimes scary time, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  It taught me a lot of things I would otherwise never have known about driving and…. about life.  I learned that sometimes you have to get WAY outside your comfort zone to get yourself out of a trying situation.  Just pray about it and GOD will answer your prayers…maybe not exactly as you saw it happening, but believe me….if you believe in HIM, it will always be exactly what you need in the end.  Did I ever think I would be driving a big rig….NO!!  But, I can tell you this, I can say with all honesty that it was a great adventure…and even though I’m no longer driving (but still in the industry), I will remember that time forever and I’ll feel a kinship forever with all those people out there doing their thing.  It’s not an easy life, so please when you see a driver out there…remember they are probably missing home and they are praying to make it back there safely…so give them some room and give them their props!! 

Former Mother-Trucker signing off…..

Peace  (or should I say….10-4, over and out)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. alonewithcats
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 01:07:30

    You were one lucky mother-trucker. (Oh man, how I love a good pun.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

