Have You Ever Had One Of “Those” Days??


I know we have all had days where things just seemed to get worse as the day went on, right?  Like somehow..right before you woke up…the planet just seemed to shift in the other direction just so your day would be thrown out of whack.  Or, at least that’s how it seemed to me just the other day.  Let me share with you how it all went down….

First of all as some of you already know, I have recently moved to another house.  So the other morning as I was waking from a night of restful sleep, I was formulating my plan for the day (as I usually do in the mornings).  I love doing this because it kind of gets me going for the day and helps me feel like I have a roadmap to follow.  My plan was to first go to the old house and get a few more things. Next I planned to go to the county water dept. to transfer the water acct. from the old house to the new one. Then finally to run by Sam’s Club to pick up a few items I needed to make my “famous chicken salad” (ya’ll will ALL know about that one day soon…stay tuned!!!), all before heading back to the new house to drop everything off so I could then head in to work.  Now….this was the plan….but remember I said the universe had shifted in the other direction…so that’s not at all what happened!!  Here is how it actually went down.

When I got the the old house, I went inside and gathered up a few things that I knew would be easy to carry and easy to load into the car and I proceeded to do just that.  Making a few trips up and down the stairs was ok…I always like to incorporate a little excercise when I can (LOL!!).  So this part of my plan was going like clockwork.  But….when I got back into my car to start on the second leg of my journey..that’s when that shifting of the universe kicked in!  My car battery was DEAD!!!  Not just on life support dead…I mean flatline dead!!  No little rest then try it again…..DEAD!!  So there starts the downward spiral.  I immediately went into that mode…you know the mode…”why me, Lord…why now!!”   I thought about who I could call who could give me a jump start, I thought of calling work to tell them I wasn’t going to make it, or at least…not on time.  I don’t even have any jumper cables, and I figured that since I needed a new battery anyway that I would concentrate on doing just that…finding a way to get to an auto parts store so I could buy a battery.  So now it’s “who is available to come an take me around”.  Since my fiance was at work and doesn’t always have immediate access to a phone, I decided to call my sister, who doesn’t live that far away and is self employed and works from home.  Ok, first crisis under control.  She came to pick me up and we headed to the auto parts store to get a battery….all is back on track…or is it?

We get the the store and I find the battery that fits my car.  The clerk spins the screen around (as they do to prove to you they are telling you exactly what the correct info is….I call it the big reveal!!), and the cost for the battery is $158 and change.  Ok that was enough to send me back to bed, but I pressed on.  But when she took me to the shelves to show me the battery, I told her it didn’t look like that one would even fit into my car.  She insisted that it would and promised that it was the right one, so I went ahead and bought it and they took it out to my sister’s SUV and loaded it into the back.  We then sat in the car and looked at each other.  Niether of us had EVER changed out a battery and we didn’t even have a screwdriver between us to do it anyway!  But…I remebered that the guy that I bought my car from has a mechanic shop just down the street.  I told my sister to take me by there and I would ask him what he suggested about getting the battery in.  We rode by there and just by chance he was there (long story…he usually is AWOL!!), so ok…back in business!!  He let one of his mechanics ride with us back to my house so that he could install the battery…talk about service!!!  We were back on our merry way and all was going to be fine, right?    Not on this planet!!

So we lift my hood and the guy takes one look and says…”This battery ain’t gon fit ma’am” .  So…I’m not crazy!!  I thought it looked too big to fit into my car, but noooo!  They assured me that it would fit….well, you get the picture.  But guess what?  The mechanic said that his cousin lives a few houses down (go figure?) and he would go there to get some jumper cables and jump my car off so we could take mine to the store.  This way we would be sure to get the right battery.  We do this and my sister follows us back there to make sure everything is ok.  We exchange the batteries, install the correct one and then turn in my old one.  Wow!  Now it seems that everything is fine because my car fires up like the beast that I know she is!!  We are off and running!  The mechanic doesn’t even charge me for his services!!  Of course I offered to buy him lunch to show my appreciation and he says that will be fine.  So now…we are good right?  Well, not just yet!!  I know ya’ll think I’m making this up….I assure you that I’m not.  Read on!!

So, I continue on to the county water department to take care of that business….and all went smoothly!  No lines, immediate service and no out of pocket costs.  I was very pleased with this and felt a sense of relief to have this taken care of.  I continued on to Sam’s club to get the stuff I needed for my chicken salad.  Then I got home to unload everything so I could go on to work….slightly late, but better late than never, right?  Before leaving I decided to give the dogs some water and when I turned on the faucet…..(I bet you didn’t even see this coming)….NO WATER!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  Why was this happening to me!!  I called the water department and they said, “oh..we see here that there was a work order to turn off the water at that address for this morning”.  I asked why they hadn’t mentioned that when I transferred the account and they said it was mistakenly overlooked.  I said, ok..since it was mistake, have them come back and turn the water on.  They said…”well, we can’t do it today, it will have to be tomorrow”.  I lost it at this point!  I said some things that ya’ll would hardly believe could come out of my mouth, but oooh I was hot!!  But right at that moment I realized something.  Why not handle all of these situations with grace and humor?  Why not look at these things just like say, a fun brain teaser or a riddle that needs to be figured out?  Why not say “bring it on” and use this as a challenge to see how I can use my ingenuity to figure out how to overcome?  And guess what?  Everything seemed to shift in that moment!!  I realized I still had electricity and water at the hold house!  I could go there, cook there, shower there and all would be fine tomorrow!  I could go on to work, and then after work, go to the old house, take care of business and sleep in peace that night.  Then awaken and the world would be spinning in the right direction the next day.  Guess what?  That’s exactly what happened!  I didn’t die of lack of water.  And I also had some things to be thankful for. 

I had a sister that could drive me around and, she was available.  I had the funds available to buy the battery.  I had a mechanic that was willing to ride with me to my house to install my battery free of charge.  I had an alternate address to cook, shower and sleep that was comfortable and I didn’t have to make a reservation!!  And….I don’t even have to be at work until almost noon…so I wan’t even really all that late.

You see…I really understand that it’s all about your perspective!  If I let all of that bring me down, my whole day would have seemed ruined beyond repair.  But since I chose to laugh at it all and find the good in it….I found that I had more to be thankful about than I had to be mad at.  Bad things happen all the time, but it’s how we choose to handle those things that helps us to grow and helps us to really rise above our mishaps.  Yes we’ve all had one of “those” days, but next time you do…remember…find the positives it your mishaps and I promise you they won’t last long and they won’t even seem so bad!!

Leave a Reply

